Just Landed

An Outsider’s Perspective From The Inside

  • About Just Landed

    Just Landed is a part of the ever-expanding Blandings Media Empire.
  • Write Me

    justlanded AT blandings DOT com
  • Archives

  • Categories

Adventures in Mobile Phones II

Posted by anandrr on December 5, 2007

Or why salespeople should be paid by commission. Turns out that my misadventure at the “Airtel showroom” was unwarranted. What I should have done is gone to the nearby guy who’s not an Airtel owned showroom but is an Airtel agent reselling their service. He had a refreshing attitude to the sales process. He immediately seated me, had me fill out a form, pick a phone number, told me that he didn’t care to compare my passport with the copies I was giving him, and as I sat there, called the Airtel centre (crashing servers be damned) and activated my SIM card for me. 10 minutes for a cell phone number. In my previous post, I had assumed that the problem was insufficient technology. On the contrary, it might just be that the chaps at the showroom are paid salaries, while our man of the moment here at the agency gets paid a commission. All hail Adam Smith.

Leave a Reply

 
