Just Landed

An Outsider’s Perspective From The Inside

  • About Just Landed

    Just Landed is a part of the ever-expanding Blandings Media Empire.
  • Write Me

    justlanded AT blandings DOT com
  • Archives

  • Categories

The News Crawls Back

Posted by anandrr on December 30, 2008

CNN is allegedly retiring the crawl. Pity it won’t improve the quality of its news all that much. I stopped watching the TV news a long time ago, if it’s not on Jon Stewart or Stephen Colbert, I’ve probably not watched it. True to form, I’ve watched a total of about 5 minutes of TV news since I returned to India about a year ago. But the first of those minutes had me reaching urgently for my camera. As I remembered it (of course since I haven’t watched TV news in a while, this might not be still true), US news networks feature a talking head, sometimes a banner announcing the story and a crawl. In India, we have this:

Indian News Channel Screen GrabFor those of you keeping score at home, that’s:

  1. A banner headline at the top telling you what the story is about
  2. A news category white on blue
  3. The latest on this controversy crawling below that
  4. The time and a crawl of unrelated news below that
  5. A completely different crawl of more different unrelated news below that

I got your information overload right here.

4 Responses to “The News Crawls Back”

  1. Samir said

    Are you kidding me? Ever heard of CNBC in the US? Obviously you were watching PBS only in the US. :)

  2. anandrr said

    I “understand” CNBC and business channels having so many crawls. They have to maintain the pretense that they are key to business and monitoring 100 different things all at once. But an ordinary news channel, wtf?

  3. anandrr said

    And to answer your question, I did not even watch PBS, as I said if the news was not on Comedy Central, I probably missed it on the TV.

  4. GV said

    You’re missing some really good stuff on the Hindi News Channels. Recommend News24 for best fun.

Leave a Reply

 
